Tiger Balm

During my Around The World Beauty Chinatown video I talked about Tiger Balm.

ATWBThailand4

Photo by Stephanie Flor Thailand

I got introduced to Tiger Balm in Thailand at the floating market. Tiger Balm is made from a number of different medicinal plants including; clove bud oil, camphor, cajuput oil, and menthol . Its a beauty must in most of Asia.

It helps treat

  • headaches
  • muscular paints
  • mosquito bites
  • cough
  • stomach pains
  • nasal congestion

This balm was first created in Burma by a Chinese Herbalist in the 1870’s. In the past it actually contained a tiger bone hint hint hint . Tiger bone was a famous chinese ingredient dating back 1,500 years. Its sold in over 100 countries and in the 1930’s the Aw family released it in Honk Kong and Singapore. 

I use it when I feel body ache mostly and is similar to spanish fix it all Vicks Vapor. I love the packaging its super authentic and gives you that traditional chinese touch with an interesting ingredient.

4533697